A Boring Love

napanaginipan_kita_session_road.jpg
One of my favorite scenes from “That Thing Called Tadhana” (That Thing Called Meant to Be), a Filipino indie film written and directed by Antoinette Jadaone

 

The world keeps telling me, enticing me, to have the reckless-abandon-kind-of-love. And it excites me. It really makes me want it. But then I see people who are happy with a different kind of love – the God-kind-of-love – that goes more than the excitement and euphoria. That goes beyond the looks and the appeal. The kind of love that dwells in people who might not always be exciting, but who would always take the time to say a nice word or two. The kind who would be generous even in lack. The kind who would be kind to anyone or everyone, regardless of the situation.

The world is offering me a lot of options and it tempts me to settle for a love that would be fire, but might burn me down eventually. But I know I’m made for a love that would be a light, shedding sunshine on my darkest days. A love that would help me grow. A love, a light, that would never burn me. But instead, would illuminate and enlighten me. A love that would warm my heart when it is cold.

Sappy as it is, this is the kind of love that is worth waiting and fighting for. And I’m willing to wait and fight for it.

Leave a Reply

